Skip to content

ATomic Nuisance

January 22, 2010

I have a new least favourite player, folks. Andy Muzzah and Ana Ivanovic no longer top the list of the most annoying people in tennis. Nope, the new least favourite is Australia’s own Bernard Tomic. Tomic is uglier than Murray, he pushes more than Murray (I know, it has to be seen to be believed), he is cockier than Murray, and he has worse outfits than Ivanovic. The worst part is, Tomic is only 17. Which means he is only going to get meaner, uglier, and more arrogant.

Dickface played the worst five setter I have ever seen the other night again Marin Cilic. Cilic, by the way, is cool. Cilic played the worst tennis of his short career, and Tomic got every ball back he could. For all the praise surronding Tomic, I personally do not see what the hype is about. Yes, he can push. Yes, his mentality is impressive. But he has no weapons. How Tomic is different from any other promising upstart is a mystery to me. Donald Young seemed to have more potential.

The worst thing about Tomic, of course, is his cockiness and arrogance. Seemingly already thinking he belongs in the top ten, Tomic claims he can hang with the big boys now. He can’t. With Cilic playing the worst tennis of his life, Tomic still lost. And then he complained. Tomic, number 286 in the world and a wildcard entry, complained about the scheduling. He says that because he is only 17, he should have been allowed to play a day match. Because he is only 17, he cannot possibly stay up until 2am. Because he is only 17, he should have gotten the priority of the day match. Because he is 17 and number 286 in the world, we should care.

Wrong. Tomic should have been grateful to have recieved a wildcard into a Slam. He should have been grateful for the experience on centre court. He should have been grateful that he played a five setter against the number 14 in the world. Instead, he whines. In the world of tennis, Tomic is noone. The fact that he had the arrogance to even request a scheduling time shows to me that he has no modesty, no humilty, and no courtesy.

After the officials said basically what I just did to Tomic, he still hasn’t showed any remorse.

Q. Today’s discussion has been about what you said rather than how you played, which seems a shame. Do you feel like you kind of learned a lesson as far as just being a little bit more careful in your post‑match comments?

BERNARD TOMIC: No, not really. Haven’t learned anything. What’s there to learn? I just finished the match and I said a thing that I was probably ‑‑ what was I supposed to say? It was 2:00 in the morning.

No, hopefully next schedule will be during the day when I play.

 

Q. When you say, What’s to learn, some of the comments have been that it’s poor sportsmanship to look for an excuse for your loss. So you used the scheduling for an excuse. Do you agree that’s poor sportsmanship?

BERNARD TOMIC: No, had I played during the day it would have been totally different. Like I said, after the match, I said what I said. I was a few points away from winning, and I got a little bit upset about that.

Seems to me like Tomic not only has the biggest pushing game in the world, he hasn’t learnt anything from the likes of Federer or Nadal on humility and respect. Tomic better STFU, or tournament organisners and non-Australians are going to avoid supporting him like the Nazi party.

For the record, if Muzz played this guy, I would be going for Muzz to make a double bagel.

Oh, and he has bad clothes. And his own website. *barf*

https://i1.wp.com/www.abc.net.au/reslib/201001/r501188_2650749.jpg

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Curtis permalink
    January 23, 2010 5:20 am

    How is Ana Ivanovic annoying? She is probably the most nicest and sweetest girl on tour alongside Kim Clijsters and was voted by her peers for the 2008 sportsmanship award. I don’t know what Ivanovic you’re referring too.

    • January 23, 2010 10:03 am

      annoying and mean are different. I have no doubt shes nice. I just hate her celebrations and fist pumps and stomps… it’s personal preference I guess. But she is a hell of a lot NICER than Tomic. I think maybe anyone is nicer than Tomic…

  2. January 23, 2010 4:48 pm

    he’s only 17. and he’s very very competitive. i’m willing to give him a couple of years to grow up and then i’ll become judgy.

  3. Mark permalink
    March 7, 2010 2:19 pm

    I would cut Bernard Tomic some slack, if only because he is just seventeen years of age and still has a lot of things – not just tennis-related things – to learn. Neither his personality nor his game is fully formed. Also, he seems to have a father from hell, in other words a good basis for a Jelena Dokic-type tragedy. What is with with players with Croatian or Serbian origins?

    • March 8, 2010 1:16 am

      I agree he has the father from hell, but his age is no excuse. He’s seventeen not eight years old. At seventeen I would expect him to know how to behave, if not from his father then from general society. I was seventeen five years ago and I don’t think given the opportunity to play a five setter against 21 year old Cilic on Rod Laver I would have complained.

  4. Mark permalink
    March 21, 2010 12:26 pm

    Tomic is obviously a work in progress. I’m sure he’ll be forgiven almost anything if he starts to win major titles on the main tour…

  5. Edward Olbert permalink
    January 27, 2012 12:15 pm

    Unfortunately he’s a dickhead

Leave a Reply

